Do you update your windows?

When the other folders just won't do!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

Fred83
Posts: 6997
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 7:55 pm

Do you update your windows?

Post by Fred83 » Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:29 pm

Do people here update their windows?,im running vista at the mo and it always needs constant updating. Takes up a lot of my internet download allowance.i know its for the best of the system itself to cure and patch problems,although i have got away with it before by not updating xp and useing a good firewall called zone alarm and windows worked fine.
Last edited by Fred83 on Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
will2097
Posts: 3909
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire
Contact:

Post by will2097 » Sat Mar 29, 2008 1:18 pm

you should. It's irritating, slow and crap, but none the less, you should.

Fred83
Posts: 6997
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 7:55 pm

Post by Fred83 » Sat Mar 29, 2008 2:06 pm

i don't know how microsoft expects people to upgrade their windows,if you are in a poor country or if the internet is slow.
Last edited by Fred83 on Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wienerman
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:17 am
Location: UK

Post by wienerman » Sat Mar 29, 2008 2:21 pm

just you wait until sp1 for vista officially arrives :D :wink:
Image

User avatar
markopoloman
Posts: 11657
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:03 pm
Location: Poole, Dorset

Post by markopoloman » Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:01 pm

wienerman wrote:just you wait until sp1 for vista officially arrives :D :wink:
Yes! its quite large :shock:
OFF TOPIC DISCUSSIONS - http://retrocanteen.boards.net/

User avatar
RetroKingSimon
Posts: 3680
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:21 pm
Location: Ohtori Academy

Post by RetroKingSimon » Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:05 pm

I'm still using Windows 2000 Pro :shock:

atari_ghost
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:51 pm

Post by atari_ghost » Sat Mar 29, 2008 11:10 pm

Nope, I don't update my windows. I think they are no use to me.

User avatar
Antiriad2097
Posts: 26809
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:48 pm
Location: http://s11.zetaboards.com/RetroLeague/
Contact:

Post by Antiriad2097 » Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:13 am

I've got some decent double glazing the council put in before we bought the house, but I wouldn't mind an upgrade as the frames are overly large so the actual panes of glass are quite small.
The Retro League - Where skill isn't an obstacle
Retrocanteen, home of the unfairly banned
Tom_Baker wrote:I just finished watching a film about Stockholm syndrome. It started out terrible but by the end I really liked it.

User avatar
woody.cool
Posts: 8809
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 3:29 am
Location: Northampton, UK
Contact:

Post by woody.cool » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:08 pm

RetroKingSimon wrote:I'm still using Windows 2000 Pro :shock:
In MY opinion - Windows 2000 Pro is the best version of Windows created (from a reliability and functionality point of view).

Currently I'm still with Windows 2000 Pro on one PC and Windows XP Pro on my laptop. I did try Vista and fell out with it after a couple of days.

User avatar
Bill Goldberg
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: In The Ring

Post by Bill Goldberg » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:12 pm

Antiriad2097 wrote:I've got some decent double glazing the council put in before we bought the house, but I wouldn't mind an upgrade as the frames are overly large so the actual panes of glass are quite small.
Who did you get your windows from?
YOUR NEXT?

User avatar
woody.cool
Posts: 8809
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 3:29 am
Location: Northampton, UK
Contact:

Post by woody.cool » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:13 pm

Bill Goldberg wrote:
Antiriad2097 wrote:I've got some decent double glazing the council put in before we bought the house, but I wouldn't mind an upgrade as the frames are overly large so the actual panes of glass are quite small.
Who did you get your windows from?
I wonder whether they were made by CET?

User avatar
TheDude18
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:13 am
Location: South Wales

Post by TheDude18 » Sun Mar 30, 2008 1:09 pm

Running vista at the mo and regulary update. Pain in the arse though.
Image

User avatar
djcarlos
Posts: 4198
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:57 am
Location: Just outside the Imperial Capital Of Seaford

Post by djcarlos » Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:14 pm

Yep I update it monthly.
Image

User avatar
woody.cool
Posts: 8809
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 3:29 am
Location: Northampton, UK
Contact:

Post by woody.cool » Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:05 pm

markopoloman wrote:
wienerman wrote:just you wait until sp1 for vista officially arrives :D :wink:
Yes! its quite large :shock:
... and it f@#ks everything up !!!

The Universal
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:25 pm
Location: Cornwall

Post by The Universal » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:22 am

Update regulary, never seems a hassle to be honest, I love Vista, not very IT savvy, and find it the easiest of all OS to use.

I do however have one problem you guys may be able to help with, whilst emptying the recycle bin, being mugged by my 5 year old son and trying to hold a conversation with my wife last night, I deleted the recycle bin.
Managed to find it and create a short cut, but is there a way to create the icon on the desktop again without it being a shortcut? I know it sounds silly
Just where is Mickey T?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests