Stuff you want to try even though you'd suck at it.

When the other folders just won't do!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

GigaPepsiMan

Stuff you want to try even though you'd suck at it.

Post by GigaPepsiMan » Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:56 am

Last couple of years I've got into the mentality that if I can afford it then I will go out and try and learn something different.
First I took up Aikido (which I now do on and off and really need to get back into going regular)
Then I started training to become a pro wrestler (but it was expensive and the money ran dry)
and then finally I started going to Tae Kwon Do lessons (and ran out of money)

I'm not particularly good at any of those 3 things and it would probably take a lot of hours to show sings of any major improvement but still I had fun while it lasted. That said there are a tonne of things I'd like to try out even though I'd be bloody awful at them, one of the top ones on my list is skateboarding for real (buy a useable board not a rubbish £10 one), I wouldn't mind giving skateboarding a good go but my god would I be naturally bad at it because for a start I'm not the most confident person (which with skateboarding is a big issue).

I'd love to learn how to DJ too but a big issue with that is my music knowledge (or big lack of because I can never remember the names of anything).

Anyone else got something they'd want to try even though you'd look bad doing it?

Antiriad2097

Re: Stuff you want to try even though you'd suck at it.

Post by Antiriad2097 » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:25 am

There's an excellent indoor skatepark in Aberdeen. I'd love to learn to get some proper air on a BMX. I do have a bike, but its an older style really designed for street freestyle rather than ramp work, being larger and heavier than the bikes used now.

Even so, a 42 year old n00b is going to look ridiculous among all the proficient kids (and a few pros) who go there.