I've just dug my NES out

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed, lcarlson

Post Reply
James Bond
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 5:39 am

I've just dug my NES out

Post by James Bond » Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:24 pm

I found everything but the power supply :( Is is possible to use the power supply from another console?
My HD DVD/Blu Ray Collection:

http://romeos.dvdaf.com/owned

User avatar
witchfinder
Posts: 3844
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 9:56 am
Location: The Cave of Monsters (AKA Stoke!)
Contact:

Post by witchfinder » Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:30 pm

Yep, a SNES power supply is the same... Or I guess you can configure one of those multi-voltage adapters...
The 100k Challenge - 40 Arcade Classics. 2 MAME Cabs. 1 Average Gamer.
Mastertronic Chronicles - Mastertronic C64 Game Collecting and Reviews
My Youtube Channel (featuring Mastertronic, Funspot, REPLAY and more!)

Image

User avatar
Spooky
Posts: 2298
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 12:40 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Spooky » Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:51 pm

witchfinder wrote:Yep, a SNES power supply is the same... Or I guess you can configure one of those multi-voltage adapters...
The SNES power supply is indeed fine. I've used for years on mine, until I found other power supplies. I think I even have a spare one, though it's a French plug. :wink:
Image
Translator for Pix'n Love Publishing:
The History of Sonic (Spring 2012)
Gunpei Yokoi biography (Q2 2012)
The History of Mario (Q2 2012)

http://www.pixnlovepublishing.com

James Bond
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 5:39 am

Post by James Bond » Sun Jun 01, 2008 3:19 pm

I've only got an American Snes :( Can I use a Megadrive plug? got loads of them :?
My HD DVD/Blu Ray Collection:

http://romeos.dvdaf.com/owned

mohicankid
Posts: 4295
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:53 am
Location: in the darkest of dark places!

Post by mohicankid » Sun Jun 01, 2008 3:33 pm

i think its a different connection...a multi plug thingamy will do it..you can get em for a couple of quid!
Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water...

James Bond
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 5:39 am

Post by James Bond » Sun Jun 01, 2008 4:27 pm

Will have a look on Ebay. Thanks for your time guys 8)
My HD DVD/Blu Ray Collection:

http://romeos.dvdaf.com/owned

James Bond
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 5:39 am

Post by James Bond » Sun Jun 01, 2008 5:38 pm

My HD DVD/Blu Ray Collection:

http://romeos.dvdaf.com/owned

User avatar
Spooky
Posts: 2298
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 12:40 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Spooky » Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:07 am

This looks like the one, though you said your NES was an American one, so you'll need an adaptor, UK power supplies are 22V or 230V and US ones are 110V I think...
Image
Translator for Pix'n Love Publishing:
The History of Sonic (Spring 2012)
Gunpei Yokoi biography (Q2 2012)
The History of Mario (Q2 2012)

http://www.pixnlovepublishing.com

User avatar
MikeHaggar
Posts: 4787
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by MikeHaggar » Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:38 am

If your NES looks like this (blue power connector):
Image

Then it will work.


If your NES looks like this (black power connector):
Image

Then it won't.

User avatar
do_sucol
Posts: 816
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:04 pm

Post by do_sucol » Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:45 am

Spooky wrote:
witchfinder wrote:Yep, a SNES power supply is the same... Or I guess you can configure one of those multi-voltage adapters...
The SNES power supply is indeed fine. I've used for years on mine, until I found other power supplies. I think I even have a spare one, though it's a French plug. :wink:
Just lop the 2 pin plug off and fit a standard uk plug,or buy an adapter which the 2 pin fits into,either the shaver type(slots in the top) or one which completely incases the 2 pin plug inside a uk 3 pin.
MikeHaggar wrote:If your NES looks like this (blue power connector):
Image

Then it will work.


If your NES looks like this (black power connector):
Image

Then it won't.
What's the difference between them like mike,one centre + and the other centre - ?
The economic and political system isn't broken.
It's doing what it was designed to do - make the rich richer.

User avatar
MikeHaggar
Posts: 4787
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by MikeHaggar » Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:16 pm

do_sucol wrote:What's the difference between them like mike,one centre + and the other centre - ?
No. Both are AC, not DC, so it doesn't matter. The plug is 2.1mm on one and 2.5mm in diameter on the other.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests