Amstrad CPC Emulation

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

User avatar
Eric
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Eric » Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:49 am

I started with Caprice but then moved onto Winape as it has far more options, settings and seemed to run alot smoother with less bugs than Caprice.

Only slight small downside to Winape is it displays the Amstrads "Pink" colour as a near Red (See Robocop`s face on the loading screen), this may have something to do with it being a Plus emulator but is there any way to edit or change the colour pallete?

Arnold for Mac is ok though It does not seem to work fully under OSX.
Last edited by Eric on Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JetSetWilly
Posts: 9535
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: We Must Perform A Quirkafleeg!
Contact:

Post by JetSetWilly » Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:49 am

awesome.
cheers for the info guys.
JSW's Guff Emporium! <- My bit of t'internet.
IronMaidenRule wrote:I want to be a mighty warrior that can give people Vajjazles with a swing of his mighty sword, and also replenish health with communal Merkins!....I would like to be called....Norman!

User avatar
SirClive
Posts: 20261
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 2:25 pm
Location: Planet Sinclair
Contact:

Post by SirClive » Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:55 pm

Caprice has always done everything I needed it to.
Image

User avatar
batman877
Posts: 1616
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:53 am
Location: Derbyshire

Post by batman877 » Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:21 pm

SirClive wrote:Caprice has always done everything I needed it to.
As an original Amstrad CPC 6128 owner, I've always thought Caprice slightly under performs on certain games.

WinApe really is the one and only choice for near perfect emulation, IMO of course! :wink:

User avatar
woody.cool
Posts: 8809
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 3:29 am
Location: Northampton, UK
Contact:

Post by woody.cool » Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:39 pm

batman877 wrote:
SirClive wrote:Caprice has always done everything I needed it to.
As an original Amstrad CPC 6128 owner, I've always thought Caprice slightly under performs on certain games.

WinApe really is the one and only choice for near perfect emulation, IMO of course! :wink:
I've always thought that Caprice is fine for CPC 464 and CPC 664 stuff but any 128K only games (6128 stuff) doesn't quite run right on Caprice. On top of that, you need WinApe if you want to play CPC+ stuff.

My comparison of Caprice, WinApe and a real CPC is based on the fact I've owned my CPC464 and my CPC6128 since 1985/6 (ish)

User avatar
DJevAL
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 10:06 am
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Post by DJevAL » Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:42 pm

So... are people getting on allright with WinApe?


Want any 'different' game suggestions that aren't the usual/obvious ones posted on here?

User avatar
markopoloman
Posts: 11657
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:03 pm
Location: Poole, Dorset

Post by markopoloman » Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:56 pm

Errrrrrrrrrrrm - I use WinCPC :? Is that not a good one???
OFF TOPIC DISCUSSIONS - http://retrocanteen.boards.net/

User avatar
FatTrucker
Posts: 4724
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:23 pm
Location: Essex

Post by FatTrucker » Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:03 pm

CPCE while not the most competent or feature rich emulator offers arguably the best visual representation of an actual CPC screen.
Darran@Retro Gamer wrote:I've played all the Bratz games and Barbia Horse Adventures, due to having two girls and they are not rubbish in the slightest.
Feel free to add me on XBL.
Image

Bub&Bob
Posts: 6833
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:24 am

Post by Bub&Bob » Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:48 pm

DJevAL wrote:So... are people getting on allright with WinApe?


Want any 'different' game suggestions that aren't the usual/obvious ones posted on here?
Its fine but still wont auto run a game via Gamebase..........
The dry fart for Barry MacDermot and all the cancer patients in the Glamorgan testicle ward

User avatar
Belgarath
Posts: 1044
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:22 pm
Contact:

Post by Belgarath » Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:01 pm

To autorun games with winape via gamebase, use the following script

Add_CLP(%gamepathfile% /A)
Run_Emulator()

note the upper case A

User avatar
C=Style
Posts: 9053
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:07 pm
Contact:

Post by C=Style » Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:14 pm

I use an Xbox port of Arnold for Windows. Seems to do the job nice enough but the sound seems a bit off on a few titles.
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests