Page 4 of 4

Re: Quake II Fully Ray Traced

Posted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:29 pm
by SJ_Sathanas
All this reminds me of trying to run Halo with a Geforce 4 MX....

Re: Quake II Fully Ray Traced

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:13 pm
by outdated_gamer
SJ_Sathanas wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:29 pm
All this reminds me of trying to run Halo with a Geforce 4 MX....
Doom 3 ran on it too:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=riLaBmlnNdA

Re: Quake II Fully Ray Traced

Posted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 2:45 am
by Matt_B
I was still using a GeForce 2 GTS when Doom 3 came out. It just about worked, but I upgraded soon after.

Anyway, getting back to Quake RTX, it turns out that I can get playable framerates (low 30s) on a 1070 by turning global illumination to low and caustics to off without affecting the visuals that much. That's handy, although I can understand why Nvidia wouldn't ship it with those as default settings when they're trying to sell 20 series cards. Oh, and you can change from the RTX renderer back to the OpenGL one and see the frame rate shoot up to 1000.

Re: Quake II Fully Ray Traced

Posted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:48 pm
by SJ_Sathanas
I seem to recall the Geforce 4 MX (the MX being the budget model) basically was a Geforce 2.

Re: Quake II Fully Ray Traced

Posted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 5:45 pm
by Matt_B
SJ_Sathanas wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:48 pm
I seem to recall the Geforce 4 MX (the MX being the budget model) basically was a Geforce 2.
It was a bit better than that, in that it had some of the advanced features that only the 4 series had up to that point. However, the overall performance was less than the GeForce 3 Ti. In modern parlance it'd be like the RTX 2060 compared to, say, the GTX 1080 Ti where the latter is generally going to perform better except on the few games that heavily use RTX features. Nvidia's marketing is a bit more clear about these things today though.