Page 1 of 2

Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:57 pm
by The Hardest of All Freds
I picked up a decent looking Miggy 500 today. Came with the power pack (which puts teh 360 to shame for sheer heft), the mouse, modulator etc. I have plugged it all in and it fires up fine. It seems I cannot get past this screen
Image
I assume i need a disk of some sort.....?

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:49 pm
by Liamh1982
Yep. Either the Workbench disc (the OS with a GUI) or if you put in a game, it should eventually boot to that (most of the time - not every game has an auto-load).

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:53 pm
by The Hardest of All Freds
Cool. I shall try and get hold of a game somewhere to test her out.

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 5:44 pm
by paranoid marvin
Just make sure its compatible with 1.3 , otherwise it won't work. Some of the earlier games won't work with newer versions of the Amiga hardware. One of the few real pains of owning a miggy.

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 5:58 pm
by English Invader
The good news is that Kickstart 1.3 means it's the original A500 and you have the Original Chip Set (OCS). An A500+ (Kickstart 2.0) would be more problematic because it has the ironically named Enhanced Chip Set (ECS) and many OCS games are incompatible with ECS (but not the reverse) and there are no discernible benefits from ECS to make up for it.

The situation can be remedied with a program called Relokick which provides a pseudo-1.3 environment for OCS games to boot but fortunately that's not something you have to worry about. Just don't buy anything with AGA (Advanced Graphics Architecture) on it as that's A1200 territory and won't work on your Amiga.

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:19 pm
by The Hardest of All Freds
Image
Image

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:12 pm
by Katzkatz
Fortunately, most of the Amiga's library is compatible with the 1.3 Kickstart and OCS/ECS era(as that's when the majority of games were made) - so you should find it relatively easy for games. Tell us how you got on. Enjoy. :D

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:35 am
by Sephiroth81
Can't beat the classic censored-stained yellow Amiga 500 model! Weird seeing it run on a modern telly - kind of looks like its the winuae emulator running on a Wii.

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:51 am
by English Invader
The OP should be able to change the aspect ratio to 4:3 through his TV which is what games from this era were originally designed for.

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:14 am
by Sephiroth81
English Invader wrote:The OP should be able to change the aspect ratio to 4:3 through his TV which is what games from this era were originally designed for.
Yeah, that would be highly recommended. I do that for when I'm running it (or any other retro system) on emulators, as games often look a bit odd stretched out to 16:9, even if the compromise means black borders on either side when on 4:3.

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:16 am
by The Hardest of All Freds
Doesnt seem to be an abundance of 1.3 disks out there... Obly ones on eBay just sold (just before I received the 10 mins left notification....grrrr)

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:24 am
by Sephiroth81
The Hardest of All Freds wrote:Doesnt seem to be an abundance of 1.3 disks out there... Obly ones on eBay just sold (just before I received the 10 mins left notification....grrrr)
What do you mean 1.3 disks? The operating system and start-up software is already on your Amiga 500 (built in, hence it shows the disk and the kickstart operating system number you are on, which is 1.3) - you now just literally need any A500 game disk or any other amiga software (like workbench, delux paint etc) to enjoy Amiga heaven (copies or real games), and it will run from straight from the disks, no installation or any real setup required. That was the beauty of Amigas compared to stuff like MS-DOS with command prompts etc.

The only amiga software that won't run, are perhaps ones that require AGA chipset (so mainly A1200-only games), or perhaps ones that require the 1MB upgrade (if your Amiga hasn't already had it installed already in the expansion bay underneath). Ebay is absolutely packed with Amiga 500 games.

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:45 am
by English Invader
The Hardest of All Freds wrote:Doesnt seem to be an abundance of 1.3 disks out there... Obly ones on eBay just sold (just before I received the 10 mins left notification....grrrr)
The 1.3 disks are just for the Workbench desktop environment which isn't necessary if all you're going to do is play disk games. Just get a copy of Zool, SWOS or whatever and off you go.

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:43 am
by The Hardest of All Freds
Cool. I just got a few games from the chap in town so I am good to go. Advanced D&D, Monty Python, Caeser, Sim Earth and some sport games for a tenner all in. All boxed complete and in good nick.

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 12:06 pm
by necronom
English Invader wrote:The good news is that Kickstart 1.3 means it's the original A500
Pah! 1.2 is the original A500, like mine. These modern 1.3 ones will work with pretty much anything, though :wink: Just avoid the A1200 AGA games, or as mentioned, the memory expansion ones, if it doesn't have that.