Amiga 500 questions

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed, lcarlson

User avatar
The Hardest of All Freds
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:20 am

Amiga 500 questions

Post by The Hardest of All Freds » Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:57 pm

I picked up a decent looking Miggy 500 today. Came with the power pack (which puts teh 360 to shame for sheer heft), the mouse, modulator etc. I have plugged it all in and it fires up fine. It seems I cannot get past this screen
Image
I assume i need a disk of some sort.....?
Going Solo...................

User avatar
Liamh1982
Posts: 8297
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:11 am
Location: Wrexham
Contact:

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by Liamh1982 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:49 pm

Yep. Either the Workbench disc (the OS with a GUI) or if you put in a game, it should eventually boot to that (most of the time - not every game has an auto-load).

User avatar
The Hardest of All Freds
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:20 am

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by The Hardest of All Freds » Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:53 pm

Cool. I shall try and get hold of a game somewhere to test her out.
Going Solo...................

User avatar
paranoid marvin
Posts: 14266
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:28 pm
Location: 21st Century Earth

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by paranoid marvin » Mon Feb 13, 2017 5:44 pm

Just make sure its compatible with 1.3 , otherwise it won't work. Some of the earlier games won't work with newer versions of the Amiga hardware. One of the few real pains of owning a miggy.
Mr Flibble says...
"Game over , boys!"

English Invader
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:13 pm

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by English Invader » Mon Feb 13, 2017 5:58 pm

The good news is that Kickstart 1.3 means it's the original A500 and you have the Original Chip Set (OCS). An A500+ (Kickstart 2.0) would be more problematic because it has the ironically named Enhanced Chip Set (ECS) and many OCS games are incompatible with ECS (but not the reverse) and there are no discernible benefits from ECS to make up for it.

The situation can be remedied with a program called Relokick which provides a pseudo-1.3 environment for OCS games to boot but fortunately that's not something you have to worry about. Just don't buy anything with AGA (Advanced Graphics Architecture) on it as that's A1200 territory and won't work on your Amiga.

User avatar
The Hardest of All Freds
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:20 am

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by The Hardest of All Freds » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:19 pm

Image
Image
Going Solo...................

User avatar
Katzkatz
Posts: 6984
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Sunny Eastern London suburb of Leytonstone and my own mind!

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by Katzkatz » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:12 pm

Fortunately, most of the Amiga's library is compatible with the 1.3 Kickstart and OCS/ECS era(as that's when the majority of games were made) - so you should find it relatively easy for games. Tell us how you got on. Enjoy. :D

User avatar
Sephiroth81
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 7:35 am

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by Sephiroth81 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:35 am

Can't beat the classic censored-stained yellow Amiga 500 model! Weird seeing it run on a modern telly - kind of looks like its the winuae emulator running on a Wii.

English Invader
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:13 pm

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by English Invader » Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:51 am

The OP should be able to change the aspect ratio to 4:3 through his TV which is what games from this era were originally designed for.

User avatar
Sephiroth81
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 7:35 am

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by Sephiroth81 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:14 am

English Invader wrote:The OP should be able to change the aspect ratio to 4:3 through his TV which is what games from this era were originally designed for.
Yeah, that would be highly recommended. I do that for when I'm running it (or any other retro system) on emulators, as games often look a bit odd stretched out to 16:9, even if the compromise means black borders on either side when on 4:3.

User avatar
The Hardest of All Freds
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:20 am

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by The Hardest of All Freds » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:16 am

Doesnt seem to be an abundance of 1.3 disks out there... Obly ones on eBay just sold (just before I received the 10 mins left notification....grrrr)
Going Solo...................

User avatar
Sephiroth81
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 7:35 am

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by Sephiroth81 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:24 am

The Hardest of All Freds wrote:Doesnt seem to be an abundance of 1.3 disks out there... Obly ones on eBay just sold (just before I received the 10 mins left notification....grrrr)
What do you mean 1.3 disks? The operating system and start-up software is already on your Amiga 500 (built in, hence it shows the disk and the kickstart operating system number you are on, which is 1.3) - you now just literally need any A500 game disk or any other amiga software (like workbench, delux paint etc) to enjoy Amiga heaven (copies or real games), and it will run from straight from the disks, no installation or any real setup required. That was the beauty of Amigas compared to stuff like MS-DOS with command prompts etc.

The only amiga software that won't run, are perhaps ones that require AGA chipset (so mainly A1200-only games), or perhaps ones that require the 1MB upgrade (if your Amiga hasn't already had it installed already in the expansion bay underneath). Ebay is absolutely packed with Amiga 500 games.

English Invader
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:13 pm

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by English Invader » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:45 am

The Hardest of All Freds wrote:Doesnt seem to be an abundance of 1.3 disks out there... Obly ones on eBay just sold (just before I received the 10 mins left notification....grrrr)
The 1.3 disks are just for the Workbench desktop environment which isn't necessary if all you're going to do is play disk games. Just get a copy of Zool, SWOS or whatever and off you go.

User avatar
The Hardest of All Freds
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:20 am

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by The Hardest of All Freds » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:43 am

Cool. I just got a few games from the chap in town so I am good to go. Advanced D&D, Monty Python, Caeser, Sim Earth and some sport games for a tenner all in. All boxed complete and in good nick.
Going Solo...................

User avatar
necronom
Posts: 5648
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 5:23 pm
Location: Middlesbrough

Re: Amiga 500 questions

Post by necronom » Tue Feb 14, 2017 12:06 pm

English Invader wrote:The good news is that Kickstart 1.3 means it's the original A500
Pah! 1.2 is the original A500, like mine. These modern 1.3 ones will work with pretty much anything, though :wink: Just avoid the A1200 AGA games, or as mentioned, the memory expansion ones, if it doesn't have that.
Image
The Retro Gaming League _ -= My YouTube Videos =-
The eighties aren't over. I'll say when the eighties are over. The eighties are never over! You don't just turn off the eighties! - Jack Howitzer, GTA V

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests