Best config for Elite playing on BBC Micro/Master?

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed, lcarlson

Post Reply
User avatar
blakespot
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA (USA)
Contact:

Best config for Elite playing on BBC Micro/Master?

Post by blakespot » Sun May 20, 2007 12:29 pm

I think I've decided to play Elite on the BBC Micro (emu via BeebEm3) as folks seem to think it's the best version. I saw a YouTube video of the Tube version, running w/ 6502 as 2nd processor:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIuOjEqY8Hk

It seems Braben has no issue w/ people downloading the game and Bell's website has the "Master 128 and 2nd Processor versions of BBC Elite" to download, among others - but it results in an .img file rather than the .ssd format that this BBC emulator seems to want.

Anyone know where I can get an .ssd version of this 2-processor Elite, or how to get the .img working in BeebEm3?

Is the game going too fast in that YouTube vid, or is it all good? Thanks.




bp
:: Retro game list for iPhone & iPod touch at Touch Arcade
:: Byte Cellar - the vintage computing weblog

User avatar
Matt_B
Posts: 5278
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 5:30 am
Location: 5 minutes from the beach, 30 seconds from the pub

Re: Best config for Elite playing on BBC Micro/Master?

Post by Matt_B » Sun May 20, 2007 1:05 pm

You can find a SSD file for it on www.stairwaytohell.com

Look under BBC Software->Disk Images->Sorted by Filename and it should be fairly easy to find.

And yes, the game really does play that fast. :D

User avatar
blakespot
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Alexandria, VA (USA)
Contact:

Re: Best config for Elite playing on BBC Micro/Master?

Post by blakespot » Sun May 20, 2007 1:50 pm

Matt_B wrote:You can find a SSD file for it on www.stairwaytohell.com

Look under BBC Software->Disk Images->Sorted by Filename and it should be fairly easy to find.

And yes, the game really does play that fast. :D
Thank you very much! In what ways is the "Master and Tube Enhanced" Elite better? Supports 2nd processor - for general running of threads or some specific task taken by 2nd processor. Better gfx? Colors, etc?

Tnx.




bp
:: Retro game list for iPhone & iPod touch at Touch Arcade
:: Byte Cellar - the vintage computing weblog

User avatar
Matt_B
Posts: 5278
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 5:30 am
Location: 5 minutes from the beach, 30 seconds from the pub

Re: Best config for Elite playing on BBC Micro/Master?

Post by Matt_B » Sun May 20, 2007 3:07 pm

It's a bit of everything really. If you run it with a Tube it's a fair bit faster, although on a normal Master 128 there's not much in it in terms of speed. There's an extra ship - the Cougar - although it might take you a while to find it. There are also extra secret missions. Most noticeably though, it has spruced up graphics with lots of extra colour.

User avatar
Xesh
Posts: 1245
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:50 pm
Location: Canterbury, Kent

Post by Xesh » Sun May 20, 2007 4:09 pm

And it still has those pesky Thargoids. :evil:

User avatar
Xesh
Posts: 1245
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:50 pm
Location: Canterbury, Kent

Post by Xesh » Sun May 20, 2007 4:12 pm

If you want a challenge then try Elite-A. The Thargoids in that are a lot harder to kill. And you can buy different ships as well. 8)

http://knackered.knackered.org/angus/beeb/elite.html

User avatar
Lorfarius
Posts: 3599
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: Glossop - North West
Contact:

Post by Lorfarius » Sun May 20, 2007 4:33 pm

Was there a special version of Elite released for the Micro? Or does the one out of the box work its magic on a Micro or Master regardless?

Just asking because I bought a copy on Ebay, it doesnt mention anything about the Master or Micro for that matter from what I can see.
For all your mad retro gaming needs, regular content on a daily basis!

https://www.youtube.com/user/Lorfarius

User avatar
Xesh
Posts: 1245
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:50 pm
Location: Canterbury, Kent

Post by Xesh » Sun May 20, 2007 4:36 pm

I think that there were versions for each computer released separately. Elite-A is a bit different in that it's a hack of the original. It was never on sale in the shops.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests