Choosing ports of old games - which system to go for?

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

InsertFaveGameNameHere

Choosing ports of old games - which system to go for?

Post by InsertFaveGameNameHere » Sat May 19, 2007 3:17 pm

Hey folks,

One of the first things I did when I bought a megadrive at a car boot for £2 a couple of years ago (promising myself I'd only get multiplayer games for parties on it, and ending up spending loads getting all the things for it I couldn't afford 'back in the day') was to check out what Arcade ports were done on it, so I ended up getting Outrun, Ghouls N' Ghosts, Smash TV and so on. Then I got a Master System Convertor and got Operation Wolf.

I've looked at Bubble Bobble, Rastan Saga (which looks crap on the MS) and so on. However, I've now seen stuff like the Taito Legends has Rastan, Bubble Bobble and a few more (that I'd like) on the PS2, and on the PS1 a Bubble Bobble/Rainbow Islands comp was released.

So...my question is this: Which is best to get?

On one hand my loyalty to Sega makes me want to get the old arcade ports, on the other hand I'm getting a PS2 off me bro-in-law when he buys a PS3 so I'm thinking thats going to be set up more so maybe I should buy a few modern comps. The thing about them is it annoys me so many games companies, which let these 'retro' games languish for so long (although it ensured a healthy emulation scene which they're now trying to cash in on) now repackage them and sell them for crap loads - its the classic 'money for old rope'.

I could probably spend £20 on Taito Legends, or use the £20 to get Bubble Bobble, Rainbow Islands, Gollevius (not an Arcade port but an old favourite) and Wonderboy for the MS. Ok, probably wouldn't get all of them for just £20 but still, you see my point.

So - what tactic do you guys use for these sorts of dilemma's?