Page 4 of 4

Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 6:49 am
by DanDare
I have a GeForce 6800GS. Wonder if that's the reason.

EDIT - I just got it working of FCE Ultra.

2nd Edit - I'm enjoying the NES version, but the only thing I can't do is control my speed on the gamepad. Not tried the other control methods, but the pad is funky. I'm using a PS2 pad plugged into my PC.

Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 7:39 am
by Madge
Adjust your speed by holding the "menu" button down (ie the one that you use with the onscreen icons) and pressing up or down on the D-pad.

Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 8:52 am
by DanDare
Ah yes. Now I get it. Thanks Madge.

Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 9:06 am
by Madge
No problem. It wouldn't be right if the Pilot of the Future couldn't play Elite.

Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 9:14 am
by DanDare
:oops:

Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 7:58 pm
by Xesh
Madge wrote:No problem. It wouldn't be right if the Pilot of the Future couldn't play Elite.
That would make him Crash of the Future. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 9:28 am
by blakespot
DanDare wrote:I have a GeForce 6800GS. Wonder if that's the reason.

EDIT - I just got it working of FCE Ultra.

2nd Edit - I'm enjoying the NES version, but the only thing I can't do is control my speed on the gamepad. Not tried the other control methods, but the pad is funky. I'm using a PS2 pad plugged into my PC.
I just got the version on Bell's download page working in FCE-Ultra under Windows, only after setting it to PAL emulation... But the ROM is a modification of the NTSC version and even the game itself says NTSC Emulation version in the start scroller. Does it not seem odd I must go into PAL emulation to get it looking right?

Is it playing at the right "speed" under PAL emu?




blakespot

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:58 pm
by Katzkatz
I have played Elite on the CB64 and the Amiga. It was great on both platforms. On the 64 it was wireframe graphics, and sometimes did slow down in a particulaurly hectic space battle near the sun! On the Amiga it never slowed down, and had nicer filled in 3D ships. I don't know what contorl method you would use on the Acorn for it, I am guessing mouse. On the 64 and Amiga I used a good old fashioned digital joystick, but mouse should be good.

Do check out Oolite if you can. I consider it to be Elite 1.5. Elite with a few extras. I use mouse control on it, and it works quite, well, because if you spin the ship to fast to can apply a brake just by pressing the right mouse button. It certainly makes docking so much easier with mouse control!

Happy hunting on Elite, and remember Right On Commander!!!!!!