Page 2 of 4

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 11:24 am
by blakespot
Lorfarius wrote:Just downloaded a fan remake Oolite to play in work (hey im in IT support and Im bored :P ). WHAT a game! Just spent 2 hours flying between systems and I cant get enough. Im itching to get my hands on a BBC version now.
Should I be playing Oolite on my Macs, instead?



blakespot

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 1:34 pm
by nathey
My fave version Of Elite was infact on the BBC, followed by the C64 version, awesome game that offered hours of fun. I really cant stand Frontier though, It was too advanced for its time. Lagged even on my Amiga 1200 with upgrades.

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 4:43 pm
by necronom
I've mainly played the Electron, C64 and Amiga versions. I liked the Amiga version the best (I really like the version of the music on the Amiga, too), and became Elite on it.

I didn't like the C64 version very much. For a full-on retro feeling, you can't beat the BBC version though.

As others have said, the Arc. version is said to be the best, but I haven't played it.

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 4:50 pm
by Mozart
The best version I ever played was on the Archimedes, without doubt. If it wasn't for emulation, I'd suggest buying an Archimedes solely for playing it! The second best was on the BBC Master, and the third best was the original Beeb version. The fouth best was Elite on the PC.

I've played at lot of Elite! :D But I've never played the Spectrum nor C64 versions. But if you really want the best Elite experience, I'd definetely go for the Archimedes version.

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 9:01 pm
by blakespot
Ok, like I said, I have an Acorn Archimedes A5000. I can only use the VGA out tho - no 15kHz. Will it work?

Can I somehow go Archie disk image to floppy on a PC and get it to the Archimedes? How would I do that? Tnx.





blakespot

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 6:36 am
by Lorfarius
Gameswise is there any point in buying an Archimedes? Bare in mind I already have a BBC Master?

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 11:16 am
by bolda
ST version is superb, nice smooth graphics and very playable. I tried the NES version at Game On exhibition and really struggled with it (could have done with the instruction manual!)

I tried an early version of Oolite but just couldn't get into it... maybe I need to download the latest release and give it another go.

I'd certainly recommend playing Elite before trying Frontier as it might put you off. They're both great games but like someone already mentioned, Frontier was a little too ambitious for it's time, but it's a crime that it hasn't been updated for modern systems so we're left with inferior substitutes like X2, X3 (plus the highly respectable Freelancer)

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 4:41 pm
by Mozart
Lorfarius wrote:Gameswise is there any point in buying an Archimedes? Bare in mind I already have a BBC Master?
Well, there were a lot of great exclusives on the Archie (just check out any Archie emulation site to see what I mean!), but it all depends on how much you can get one for :)

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 4:42 pm
by Mozart
blakespot wrote:Ok, like I said, I have an Acorn Archimedes A5000. I can only use the VGA out tho - no 15kHz. Will it work?

Can I somehow go Archie disk image to floppy on a PC and get it to the Archimedes? How would I do that? Tnx.

blakespot
Yup, so long as you have a 3.5" floppy for your PC - I haven't seen one for years...

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 5:04 pm
by Lorfarius
Mozart wrote:
Lorfarius wrote:Gameswise is there any point in buying an Archimedes? Bare in mind I already have a BBC Master?
Well, there were a lot of great exclusives on the Archie (just check out any Archie emulation site to see what I mean!), but it all depends on how much you can get one for :)
I dont know anything about them. Are they expensive?

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 5:25 pm
by Mozart
Lorfarius wrote:
Mozart wrote:
Lorfarius wrote:Gameswise is there any point in buying an Archimedes? Bare in mind I already have a BBC Master?
Well, there were a lot of great exclusives on the Archie (just check out any Archie emulation site to see what I mean!), but it all depends on how much you can get one for :)
I dont know anything about them. Are they expensive?
I'm not sure. There's bound to be people out there looking to rip you off, so I'd be wary if anyone is charging more than say £5 per game, largely because although there are some great games on the Archie, I couldn't look you in the eye and say that you absolutely had to play any of them before you die.

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 6:14 pm
by Lorfarius
I'm not sure. There's bound to be people out there looking to rip you off, so I'd be wary if anyone is charging more than say £5 per game, largely because although there are some great games on the Archie, I couldn't look you in the eye and say that you absolutely had to play any of them before you die.
What about the systems? Are they dear?

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:04 pm
by Mozart
Well, Magnum, I know what you're thinking - and you're right! :D

In all honesty, Archies should be fairly cheap to pick up. If you have a choice go for an A5000.

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:26 pm
by Xesh
Lorfarius wrote:What about the systems? Are they dear?
Depends which system you're after. The A5000's are much sought after because they are the most expandable. I've recently bought a BNIB A3010 for £25 plus P&P. :)

Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:43 pm
by Madge
The CPC disk version of Elite was very good too, probably better than the C64 and Spectrum ones. The tape version suffered from a nasty bug though, so don't play that.