Modern games that 'restore your faith'

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

Hungry Horace

Modern games that 'restore your faith'

Post by Hungry Horace » Fri Feb 10, 2006 3:51 am

I'm sure it's not just me that seems to have a little less passion for contemporary releases that those in my youth. Whilst the reasons are perhaps the topic for another thread, I have recently had my gaming wanderlust inflamed again. Which is not to say that I don't enjoy contemporary games (far from it), but that essential 'spark' seems lacking.

I started playing Klonoa 2 on the PS2 last night, and it really captivated me with an immediacy that I have not felt for quite some time. Yes, it may have slightly retro gaming mechanics, but the purity and sheer sense of imagination makes it seem 'fresher' than most games I have played in the last few months. Needless to say I shall be bonded to it for as much of the coming weekend as possible...

What modern games in recent months/years have given you a sense or passion and enjoyment like you used to have, and shattered the your gaming ennui?
Get your own Gamercard Sig.

revgiblet

Post by revgiblet » Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:02 am

ICO. And I fully expect to get the same feeling from Shadow of the Colossus when I buy it later this month.

Resident Evil 4 also did something for me. I loved the original Resident Evil but was slightly disappointed with the others following that. I can't put my finger on it, but RE4 seems to be one of those games that mainlines 'Gameplay' straight into my system. I think that, despite the graphical sheen, it's been designed to be endlessly playable - just like the old days.

However, I also got really excited the first time I played Rise to Honour :oops: It just made me feel so cool.
"He who lives only to benefit himself confers on the world a benefit when he dies."

Tertullian

Opa-Opa