Page 1 of 1

A good Dreamcast RGB cable?

Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 12:50 pm
by samhain81
I have the official VGA adapter but the blasted Skies of Arcadia doesn't support it, so need the next best thing.

Could anyone with a DC or good knowledge on RGBs recommend me a quality one, or are they all pretty versatile in their output?

Kind Regards
:)

Re: A good Dreamcast RGB cable?

Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 1:27 pm
by adippm82
I've had this one for years, connect my Gamecube up with it too with the handy connector half way along the lead, puts out a great picture on both, has a really solid connector to the console, which can be problem with other leads, leading to a blue picture or no sound.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/RGB-Scart-Cable ... B0001DDBMU

Re: A good Dreamcast RGB cable?

Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 1:58 pm
by Antiriad2097
Alternatively, there may be a hacked version of the game that supports VGA. A few of those games were done.

Re: A good Dreamcast RGB cable?

Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:30 pm
by samhain81
adippm82 wrote:I've had this one for years, connect my Gamecube up with it too with the handy connector half way along the lead, puts out a great picture on both, has a really solid connector to the console, which can be problem with other leads, leading to a blue picture or no sound.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/RGB-Scart-Cable ... B0001DDBMU
Thanks buddy, I'll give this one a look.
Antiriad2097 wrote:Alternatively, there may be a hacked version of the game that supports VGA. A few of those games were done.
Yeah, I'm aware, thanks. I downloaded the hacked version but it froze a few times upon playing. Couldn't be bothered to troubleshoot considering the retail copy was sitting right by me. Thought to just get the next best component for display

Re: A good Dreamcast RGB cable?

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:11 am
by HEAVYface
if you have a dcx disc you can boot non native vga games in vga, but your vga box needs a rgb/vga switch (done this with gigawing back in the day)

google it theres threads around

Re: A good Dreamcast RGB cable?

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:27 am
by Space_turnip
HEAVYface wrote:if you have a dcx disc you can boot non native vga games in vga, but your vga box needs a rgb/vga switch (done this with gigawing back in the day)

google it theres threads around
Unfortunately, the PAL Skies of Arcadia won't work in VGA with any work around. One of the few that won't. It's the US version if you want an English language version through VGA.
(also, you don't need rgb/vga switch if you're using the dcx boot. DCX just makes the screen go blank, wait for the disc to stop spinning then put the game disc in, and walla!)