Page 1 of 1

Non-Working Mega CD Repair ??

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:59 pm
by sirskinbad
Hi

so i recently found a mega cd 1 that im having problems getting it to work !

i hook it up put the mega drive, power on the lights flicker on the mega cd then nothing ?

have tested the psu that is fine , have found info about a fuse that can blow inside replaced this but still nothing ?

any 1 had any similar issues ?

i was looking forward to sampling some Sonic CD that came with it ! :)

Re: Non-Working Mega CD Repair ??

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:48 pm
by Eric
Not sure if this will help but my MegaCD can be a bit grumpy depending on the extension sockets I use - try plugging both the Megadrive and MegaCD power plugs directly into the mains wall socket.

Make sure you have the correct power plugs for each machine as they are slightly different from each other.
Try other power plugs if possible.

You can also check the side connector where both machines connect to each other, sometimes turning the Megadrive slightly will help, much like inserting a game cartridge at a silly angle works.

From your description though, it sounds like there is something more techy wrong but these tips could be worth a go.

Re: Non-Working Mega CD Repair ??

Posted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:53 am
by sirskinbad
cheers for the info , have tried most of it though but still no joy :(

gonna try get a hold of a different md & try that out l8r .

Re: Non-Working Mega CD Repair ??

Posted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 3:47 pm
by Megamixer
I had one with a dead fuse and the lights wouldn't even flicker so I would doubt there is a problem there but it's good to have replaced it anyway as a matter of course.

Can only really suggest making sure that you are using the 10v PSU and not the 9v one which powers the MCDII.

Shame that most of the repair guides/videos online are for the MCDII and not the nicer original.

Re: Non-Working Mega CD Repair ??

Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:04 pm
by sirskinbad
So ive tried everything to get the mega cd 1 working with no joy :(

so solution ...

buy another 1 !

Image

works a treat , & came with quite a few games to get started ! just need the extension piece for it so my md1 dosent over hang the edge .

anyone know where to get 1 ? :)