PS1 Question.

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: NickThorpe, Darran@Retro Gamer

Post Reply
User avatar
MC1
Posts: 2045
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:04 am

PS1 Question.

Post by MC1 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:12 pm

Ive just been given a chipped PS1 by a friend.

It has its own boot screen, will not play my original games but my friend assures me it plays copies (Im not interested in that).

Does anyone have any knowledge wether this would play imports?
Image

DoraemonTheCat
Posts: 1142
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:55 pm

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by DoraemonTheCat » Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:20 pm

Copied imports (sounds like it is currently region-free) but could be a problem playing legit imports

User avatar
imaxeroker85
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 3:46 am
Location: Australia

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by imaxeroker85 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:44 pm

I looked it up last year before i bought my NTSC-J PS2. And from what i researched it would only play copied import games, not the original copies. Maybe someone who has tried it, may have a better idea. But that is the general answer that I found last year.
Image

User avatar
MC1
Posts: 2045
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:04 am

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by MC1 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:56 pm

Thanks for the speedy reply :D
Image

User avatar
resident paul
Posts: 4489
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Preston, Lancashire

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by resident paul » Sat Apr 13, 2013 10:53 am

I had my PS1 chipped many years back so I can play the Japanese version of 'Gran Turismo'(not copy)
The reason I did it because I read reviews that the PAL version is slower than the Japan version + import the first version of the shock analogue (specially for the game)
Image

User avatar
MC1
Posts: 2045
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:04 am

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by MC1 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:00 pm

I suppose an easy way to find out would be to buy a cheapo game off eBay and give it a whirl!
Image

User avatar
JazzFunk
Posts: 1820
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:13 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by JazzFunk » Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:33 pm

Maaaan, just play the copies, you're just making life hard for yourself! :D

User avatar
imaxeroker85
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 3:46 am
Location: Australia

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by imaxeroker85 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:40 pm

MC1 wrote:I suppose an easy way to find out would be to buy a cheapo game off eBay and give it a whirl!
good idea, you could likely get some soccer game for a quid to test it out.
Image

User avatar
thebear
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 9:30 am

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by thebear » Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:41 am

my chipped one used to play copies and originals fine

(this is back when it was a current system)

Why would they now chip so you CAN't do that?
one of the biggest collections of classic 70's, 80'S and on wrestling and boxing around - http://www.freewebs.com/cbenee

User avatar
GarryG
Posts: 3217
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:33 pm
Location: The cold wet bit above England...

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by GarryG » Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:37 pm

My origonal Playstation with the Action Replay attachment does all that, so I never had any need to get it chipped.
Why not visit my ramblings at Garry's Gaming Blog

32Bitter
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 8:24 pm

Re: PS1 Question.

Post by 32Bitter » Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:10 pm

GarryG wrote:My origonal Playstation with the Action Replay attachment does all that, so I never had any need to get it chipped.
I also had that attachment. It could watch the the FMVs of older games but not FF8/9!
Don't think!....Feel!.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests