DOOM - 20 years on and still going strong

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

ChipTune

DOOM - 20 years on and still going strong

Post by ChipTune » Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:40 am

Ooh, here we go, another chance to annoy and irritate the vast majority (it would seem) of the people on this forum by making a post.

Will it be in the right section? Will I get chastised for "spamming" my blog? Let's roll the dice and find out!

I have wanted to write something about the original 2 DOOM games for ages now as I love them. I have been playing Doom every year for the last two decades, and as I have just started playing my way through Doom Classics Collection on PS3 (Ultimate Doom finished on hard in a few hours!) I thought it high time I wrote some gibberish about it.

I do actually want to start a discussion on Doom, before all the usual crowd start shouting "blog wh0re blog wh0re" while waving their pitch forks and burning torches in the air.

I want to hear from people who share my love for Doom, those of you who still play it, and still use awesome mods and source ports such as GZdoom, Brutal Doom etc

Those of you who have Doom on XBLA or PS3, let's get some multiplayer action on the go!

Anyway, here is the link to the feature. It took me an entire day to write, edit, take screenshots, etc so I hope people enjoy it.

http://retrospiritgames.blogspot.co.uk/ ... still.html

tachi

Re: DOOM - 20 years on and still going strong

Post by tachi » Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:57 am

Excellent article and a good read mate.
I look forward to Part 2.
Greetings Mortal, Are You Ready To Die?

Sel Feena

Post by Sel Feena » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:55 am

I would actually be quite keen on some Doom/Doom 2 multiplayer action. :)

Of course the best version is on Playstation. Great soundtrack.

The Laird

Post by The Laird » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:14 am