Your thoughts on retro games in general

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

TKM21

Your thoughts on retro games in general

Post by TKM21 » Sat Apr 21, 2012 10:57 pm

Hello there!

I’m a student from Staffordshire University in his final year of study. I’m doing my final year project on retro games and how much they impact games of today. I’d like to know what you guys think about retro games.

Feel free to talk about anything retro, like why you like retro to your favourite retro game. Talk about modern games as well if you want. It will all help!

Thanks in advance for the help!

RichL

Re: Your thoughts on retro games in general

Post by RichL » Sun Apr 22, 2012 3:38 am

Pick a thread on this forum?

stvd

Post by stvd » Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:03 am

NO! Do your own homework! :wink:

Stainy

Post by Stainy » Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:25 am

stvd wrote:NO! Do your own homework! :wink:
Hahaah

SexyWayne

Post by SexyWayne » Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:48 am

I don't see any games as retro, I've said it a hundred times before and I'll say it again, I don't go back to older games for a nostalgia kick or whatever... I've never stopped playing older games, I play them because I enjoy them.. simple really... a game is a game.. bunch of stuff moving around on a screen, whether it's Buggy Boy on the C64 or Forza on XBOX, I enjoy both...

The real question that seems to matter to a load of anorak wearing people is "what is retro?"

ulala

Post by ulala » Sun Apr 22, 2012 6:01 am

the above poster is quite correct.

For many of us here who are 30s plus they are not "retro" games, but just games we played and have never stopped playing. I suppose a retro game for me would be jacks, marbles or a hula hoop!

DreamcastRIP

Post by DreamcastRIP » Sun Apr 22, 2012 7:23 am

He should be made to write a fifteen thousand word dissertation titled "What is retro?" as punishment for being such a lazy git!