How long did you spend in game shops?

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

mga73

How long did you spend in game shops?

Post by mga73 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:11 pm

I have been playing games now for over 30 years, just wondered if it was only me but as a young lad i would happily go to my local game shop and be in there for at least 5 hours checking out the games and trying to decide which game i wanted,also trying to remember the good reviews in crash magazine this was twice weekly for years they must have thought i was crackers,can any one beat my record for longest time spent in a early eighties to early nineties game shops?

tachi

Re: How long did you spend in game shops?

Post by tachi » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:22 pm

I used to spend a few hours in Games Inc in Plymouth as the owner had a C64 setup and you could try the games first and I remember playing Spitting Image for a good 2 or so hours with other patrons.
Big difference from an average 5 minutes these days...
Greetings Mortal, Are You Ready To Die?

The Laird

Post by The Laird » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:22 pm

mga73 wrote:I have been playing games now for over 30 years, just wondered if it was only me but as a young lad i would happily go to my local game shop and be in there for at least 5 hours checking out the games and trying to decide which game i wanted,also trying to remember the good reviews in crash magazine this was twice weekly for years they must have thought i was crackers,can any one beat my record for longest time spent in a early eighties to early nineties game shops?
Dunno about that long but I would quite regularly spend over an hour in many of my local game shops looking at games for just about every system or playing on what was on demo.

Vyothric

Post by Vyothric » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:24 pm