Retro Soccer Games

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: NickThorpe, Darran@Retro Gamer

Start

Retro Soccer Games

Post by Start » Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:56 pm

Hi all,

As a newbie, I wanted to begin with a new topic. I'm a huge fan of old, 2D soccer games - the fast gameplay of sprite-based football is something you just don't see any more. Modern soccer games get bogged down in realism, player inertia and real teams/tournaments, whereas old footie games often (accidentally) played like a side-scrolling beat 'em ups with a bit of pinball thrown in for good measure. Win!

So I ask you, what are the great, unsung 2D soccer games that I need to play. The top three (that I know of) for me are:

Sensible Soccer - Obviously! (Amiga)
Super Sidekicks 3 (Neo Geo)
Winning Eleven (GBA)

The less realistic the better . . .

Waz

Re: Retro Soccer Games

Post by Waz » Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:10 pm

I'd add a fair few of this lot:

Kick Off (Amiga) - still one of the finest footy games ever made
Microprose Soccer (C64) - written by the Sensible Software folks
Super Cup Football (C64) - if you want a laugh with a football game, this is the one. You can curve your shot with aftertouch, but they went a bit crazy with it and you can actually curve the shot over 180 degrees, meaning you can score from a corner.
Emlyn Hughes International Soccer (C64) - spent many a tournament in eight player mode with this - me and my relatives all round the C64 in two player vs each other for each round of the Cup. Awful to look at, but gorgeous. I even modified the signage on the pitch to be more Man City related and saved out all the correct teams for the time (Man City, Man U, Liverpool etc) - those were the days.
Match Day 2 (Spectrum) - Jon Ritman's excellent football game and although it appeared on various formats, the Speccy was the best of the lot I think.
Warren Pilkington (Waz)
Former contributor to Zzap! 64, Commodore Format and HVSC