Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

Evander
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:56 pm
Location: East London

Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by Evander » Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:53 am

I remember telling my SNES owning mate back in 1993 that Mode 7 rotation was "coming out for the Amiga". To add some kind of validity to this I subtly left a pair of disks on my desk with F-Zero disk 1 and 2 written on them. This was in "preparation" for the upgrade. What a lying cretin I was.

User avatar
theantmeister
Posts: 3440
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 8:36 am

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by theantmeister » Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:57 am

:lol:

No, but I have heard many a corker in my day. In fact, there was some dumbass on here claiming he could run DOS games on his Amiga.

User avatar
The Laird
Posts: 8496
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Luton
Contact:

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by The Laird » Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:05 am

Evander wrote:I remember telling my SNES owning mate back in 1993 that Mode 7 rotation was "coming out for the Amiga". To add some kind of validity to this I subtly left a pair of disks on my desk with F-Zero disk 1 and 2 written on them. This was in "preparation" for the upgrade. What a lying cretin I was.
I can't believe that even worked, especially as the Amiga couldn't do rotation.

There was a kid at my school who claimed his Amstrad CPC could also play Spectrum games :lol:

Evander
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:56 pm
Location: East London

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by Evander » Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:08 am

Let's just say in my experience, in 1993, if I had Sky TV and one of mates didn't then I could get away with talking all kinds of BS. "Oh I saw it on a satellite channel."

User avatar
necronom
Posts: 5648
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 5:23 pm
Location: Middlesbrough

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by necronom » Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:43 am

Jagfest_UK wrote:
Evander wrote:I remember telling my SNES owning mate back in 1993 that Mode 7 rotation was "coming out for the Amiga". To add some kind of validity to this I subtly left a pair of disks on my desk with F-Zero disk 1 and 2 written on them. This was in "preparation" for the upgrade. What a lying cretin I was.
I can't believe that even worked, especially as the Amiga couldn't do rotation.
It did okay for me when I was playing Xtreme Racing.
Image
The Retro Gaming League _ -= My YouTube Videos =-
The eighties aren't over. I'll say when the eighties are over. The eighties are never over! You don't just turn off the eighties! - Jack Howitzer, GTA V

User avatar
Matt_B
Posts: 5512
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 5:30 am
Location: 5 minutes from the beach, 30 seconds from the pub

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by Matt_B » Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:04 pm

theantmeister wrote::lol:

No, but I have heard many a corker in my day. In fact, there was some dumbass on here claiming he could run DOS games on his Amiga.
There are DOS emulators for the Amiga, so it's vaguely possible to do that. There's even one called PCTask that can emulate a 486, although you'd need a very souped up Amiga to run it at full speed.

User avatar
The Laird
Posts: 8496
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Luton
Contact:

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by The Laird » Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:24 pm

necronom wrote:
Jagfest_UK wrote:
Evander wrote:I remember telling my SNES owning mate back in 1993 that Mode 7 rotation was "coming out for the Amiga". To add some kind of validity to this I subtly left a pair of disks on my desk with F-Zero disk 1 and 2 written on them. This was in "preparation" for the upgrade. What a lying cretin I was.
I can't believe that even worked, especially as the Amiga couldn't do rotation.
It did okay for me when I was playing Xtreme Racing.
That maybe but it didn't do it in hardware like the SNES, Mega CD or Lynx. :wink:

User avatar
theantmeister
Posts: 3440
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 8:36 am

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by theantmeister » Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:25 pm

Matt_B wrote:
theantmeister wrote::lol:

No, but I have heard many a corker in my day. In fact, there was some dumbass on here claiming he could run DOS games on his Amiga.
There are DOS emulators for the Amiga, so it's vaguely possible to do that. There's even one called PCTask that can emulate a 486, although you'd need a very souped up Amiga to run it at full speed.
Oh no, he remembered just popping the disc in the drive and it working. Damned search isn't turning up anything, it was quite an interesting thread.

User avatar
joefish
Posts: 3072
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:05 pm

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by joefish » Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:55 pm

Jagfest_UK wrote:That maybe but it didn't do it in hardware like the SNES, Mega CD or Lynx. :wink:
Doesn't mean it 'couldn't do it' though does it? Clearly it could.
Even the Speccy can do it. Eventually...

User avatar
r0jaws
Posts: 1860
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:48 pm

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by r0jaws » Thu Dec 08, 2011 1:37 pm

My lies about my systems make me a voracious sexual behemoth to the ladies.
Try it.

User avatar
nokgod
Posts: 9627
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 4:57 pm
Location: The Blackcountry

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by nokgod » Thu Dec 08, 2011 3:10 pm

Oh yes indeedy! The biggest lie i ever told was that i needed a Spectrum to help with my homework.
Image
sscott wrote:I thought Tomb Raider was the best game of last gen (and I fuck1n hate the Tomb Raider series!)

User avatar
theantmeister
Posts: 3440
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 8:36 am

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by theantmeister » Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:38 pm

nokgod wrote:Oh yes indeedy! The biggest lie i ever told was that i needed a Spectrum to help with my homework.
Winnar! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

User avatar
markopoloman
Posts: 11657
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:03 pm
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by markopoloman » Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:41 pm

Jagfest_UK wrote:
There was a kid at my school who claimed his Amstrad CPC could also play Spectrum games :lol:
But the Amstrad did play Spectrum games - but cleverly it added colour and made the scrolling jerky. :lol:
OFF TOPIC DISCUSSIONS - http://retrocanteen.boards.net/

psj3809
Posts: 19015
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:28 am

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by psj3809 » Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:42 pm

Instantly ! Told my parents it would be great for schoolwork, doing spreadsheets, learning word processing etc.

1 minute after getting the Speccy it was games games games

User avatar
delbert_trout
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 5:51 am
Location: Brighton & Hove

Re: Did you ever lie about what your system could do?

Post by delbert_trout » Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:43 pm

Jagfest_UK wrote:There was a kid at my school who claimed his Amstrad CPC could also play Spectrum games :lol:
He probably meant quite a lot of his cassettes had the Amstrad version of the game on one side and the Speccy version on the other?
http://www.retrogamer.net/user/delbert_trout

When you think you've got problems you don't really need,
They're maybe not as bad as they seem,
Cos in a world full of misery, with hatred and greed,
Your problems are another man's dream.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests