DOS Box. why so arsey?

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

User avatar
DPrinny
Posts: 24744
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Super Mancyland

DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by DPrinny » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:25 pm

Well I want to play some DOS games on my Window 7 PC

So I got Dos box.
That was a pain to use so I got a front end
That works with some games, but wont work with Descent.Wont run it off the disc as it needs installing.(Wont work with 7)
And it wont work with Shadow Warrior
Dos box goes on about mounting and if it dont stop ill mount it all right

User avatar
CatherineMcClarey
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 6:51 pm
Location: Dwight, IL USA

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by CatherineMcClarey » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:47 pm

I don't use a frontend for DOSBox myself (although I believe my teenage daughter uses one). I haven't had any problems running DOSBox 0.74 (& 0.73 before that) on my Windows 7 computer -- but then I haven't played a very wide variety of DOS games yet (mostly 1 series from 1 publisher, which uses basically the same game engine throughout). Here's a link to a page I found helpful when I had to mount a CD-ROM drive within DOSBox to get a game installed: http://www.sierrahelp.com/Utilities/Emu ... Mount.html . Also, try the VOGONS forums; do a search there for the game you're having trouble getting to run, and there may well be a thread or two there about it already. Otherwise, register there (it's about as easy as registering here), and start a thread about that game yourself! As long as you own a legal copy of the game you're inquiring about, there are plenty of knowledgeable people there who will be happy to help troubleshoot your DOSBox-related & DOS game-related problems. Hope this helps!
"Just one more turn . . .!"

User avatar
PaulEMoz
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Co. Durham
Contact:

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by PaulEMoz » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:48 pm

I don't like DOSBox, because I'm rubbish at anything remotely technical. However, I've found that I can play old PC games using D-Fend Reloaded, which simplifies the process a fair amount.

andyc
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:23 pm

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by andyc » Sat Jun 04, 2011 7:15 pm

It's a pain in the ass to get stuff working in DOS Box because it was a pain in the ass to get stuff working in DOS.

User avatar
ipmarks
Posts: 720
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:46 pm

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by ipmarks » Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:12 am

andyc wrote:It's a pain in the ass to get stuff working in DOS Box because it was a pain in the ass to get stuff working in DOS.
This is so true...

I vividly remember fiddling around with extended memory settings, using QEMM and other programs, and still not being able to get Day of the Tentacle to run. On top of that getting any sound from DOS was a flippin' nightmare. Remember many arguments with Dark Forces about my not being able to find my Sound Card.

However it is now 2011, and there must be some clever person out there who can invent a DOS Box type program that is easy to use. Perhaps they already have? If so can they let me know what it is... I want to play Star Trek 25th Anniversary, and it's the one game from my past I can't get DOS Box to play on my computer.

User avatar
RetroMartin
Posts: 1679
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:02 pm

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by RetroMartin » Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:59 am

I never once had to fiddle with DOS to get anything running back in Windows 3.1 - even Day of the Tentacle worked ok - I just didn't have any voices due to built in terrible sound on my PC.

DOSbox however is freakin' annoying to use in my opinion!
Image

PSN username - MartinPhantom

User avatar
paranoid marvin
Posts: 14272
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:28 pm
Location: 21st Century Earth

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by paranoid marvin » Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:06 am

The thing is that we've been spoiled by emulators like WinVice , ZXSpin , MAME, Stella etc that pretty much do everything for us.

The day when I can just have a DOS/early Windows front end that does it all for me will be the day that I will be very happy indeed. Unfortunately I just cant see that day arriving. I mean , just look how long it's taking commercial ventures like GOG to do this.
Mr Flibble says...
"Game over , boys!"

User avatar
PaulEMoz
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Co. Durham
Contact:

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by PaulEMoz » Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:11 am

Seriously - try D-Fend Reloaded, as I mentioned in my earlier post. I'm rubbish at DOS, and I wanted to play my Interplay RPG collection, which I hadn't had working in years. D-Fend Reloaded got all the games up and running for me.

User avatar
skylarking
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:57 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by skylarking » Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:08 am

I generally download older games already "wrapped" in DOS Box, it's too damn hard to work with otherwise.
ENTER IF YOU DARE
PRESS ANY KEY

User avatar
DPrinny
Posts: 24744
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Super Mancyland

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by DPrinny » Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:58 am

thanks to all this arsy dos crap. I am looking for a laptop that will run Windows 95

User avatar
PaulEMoz
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Co. Durham
Contact:

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by PaulEMoz » Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:03 am

Why not just try D-Fend Reloaded before spending money?

User avatar
quantum
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:04 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by quantum » Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:49 am

Why not just try D-Fend Reloaded before spending money?
Are you the author of D-Fend? :o Just joking...

I've never used DOSBOX for CD games, but everything I've tried was simple to run:
* Take note of the Gravis/SB sound card settings
* Mount the game's folder
* Change to the mounted drive
* Run the game's EXE
* Optionally enter the sound settings
* Bingo! :mrgreen:
Image

How about a game screenshot quiz? Amiga, DOS, Megadrive and Commodore 64.

User avatar
PaulEMoz
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Co. Durham
Contact:

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by PaulEMoz » Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:53 am

quantum wrote:
Why not just try D-Fend Reloaded before spending money?
Are you the author of D-Fend? :o Just joking...
No, but it just seemed like nobody was paying any attention to the newbie!

:mrgreen:

User avatar
Mayhem
Posts: 4741
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by Mayhem » Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:59 am

You've only just joined here Paul? Blimey, thought you were here a while back. Anyhow, yes, Paul isn't a retro n00b, just new to these parts, so you can trust what he says ;)
Lie with passion and be forever damned...

Image

User avatar
hydr0x
Posts: 2164
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 1:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: DOS Box. why so arsey?

Post by hydr0x » Sun Jun 05, 2011 11:03 am

Mayhem wrote:You've only just joined here Paul? Blimey, thought you were here a while back. Anyhow, yes, Paul isn't a retro n00b, just new to these parts, so you can trust what he says ;)
Also, I'll second his recommendation. D-Fend RL is by far the best frontend out there imho. Alexander (the coder) has done a great job.
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests