Should I get these SNES games? I'm a retro newb

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

Winters111

Should I get these SNES games? I'm a retro newb

Post by Winters111 » Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:11 am

Hi everyone,
I'm going to get an SNES this week and I obviously need games. I've done some research and have a list of a few games that I'm likely to get.
Here's the list:
- Super Mario World
- Super Castlevania IV
- Super Metroid
- Zelda: A Link to the Past
- Contra III
- Mega Man X
- Secret of Mana (very expensive though...)
It's not in any particular order. Super Mario World's a definite because it's only about £10. The others all tend to be £20+ so I would buy maybe 3 of them.
What do you think? Any comments would be great and ideally, list the top 3 from that list, or any others that you think are worth it.
BTW, I'm not keen on fighting, sports or racing games. I might get some further down the line but not now.

Antiriad2097

Re: Should I get these SNES games? I'm a retro newb

Post by Antiriad2097 » Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:18 am

Download the games and try them first. Then you'll know if they're to your taste and worth shelling out for.
The Retro League - Where skill isn't an obstacle
Retrocanteen, home of the unfairly banned
Tom_Baker wrote:I just finished watching a film about Stockholm syndrome. It started out terrible but by the end I really liked it.

ZXSabreman

Post by ZXSabreman » Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:23 am

Greetings

All good choices, may I also suggest Shadowrun an absolutely superb Blade Runner esque adventure(might be pricy tho), both Pocky and Rocky's are worth tracking down if you can find them. I still have lots of fun with Turtles Tournament Fighters, the Super Star Wars titles are also worth getting.