Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

Post Reply
User avatar
station
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Wirral

Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by station » Thu May 14, 2009 7:38 pm

It was sorta like Virus, but in tank form.
It was another game on a Medway Boys disk that I stumbled on, but thought it was awesome! Movement and turret had different controls and you drove across detailed, full 3D countryside.

http://www.mobygames.com/game/atari-st/ ... creenshots

Image

Image

I'm sure there are a large percentage of foreign games we've never played that are pretty good.
Image

User avatar
station
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Wirral

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by station » Thu May 14, 2009 7:42 pm

On the subject of Virus, did anyone play it and see a huge fish floating in the water? I saw it once and never saw it again!

Image
Image

User avatar
hydr0x
Posts: 2164
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 1:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by hydr0x » Fri May 15, 2009 2:16 am

I own the DOS version but to be honest, I've never played it :/
Image

User avatar
SOM1
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 4:08 pm

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by SOM1 » Fri May 15, 2009 2:46 am

I've still got a demo version from ST Format Cover Disk 9. I remember playing it but it was some twenty years ago.

User avatar
Coopdevil
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:25 am
Location: Comfortable, tunnel-like hall.

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by Coopdevil » Fri May 15, 2009 3:39 am

I remember it but always thought it was more of a tech demo than a real game - extremely fiddly trying to line the turret up to hit anything. Part of me seems to remember seeing the game on an Archimedes at sixth form college before the ST version, but that might be a confused and false memory as I definately saw Zarch running on the Arc. about a week before I got my ST when a mate gave me some, ahem, "backups" and Virus turned out to be one of them.

Coop
Image

User avatar
Antiriad2097
Posts: 26750
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:48 pm
Location: http://s11.zetaboards.com/RetroLeague/
Contact:

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by Antiriad2097 » Fri May 15, 2009 7:43 am

SOM1 wrote:I've still got a demo version from ST Format Cover Disk 9. I remember playing it but it was some twenty years ago.
That's the only time I've played the game too. Played it quite a bit, but never enough to convince me to buy the full thing. There just didn't seem a great deal to do and the pace was on the slow side - I was more used to Microprose games, so I expected my warfare to be more complex and varied.

Nice engine though. I once started coding a replica but it didn't get beyond some basic faked 3D tiles.
The Retro League - Where skill isn't an obstacle
Retrocanteen, home of the unfairly banned
Tom_Baker wrote:I just finished watching a film about Stockholm syndrome. It started out terrible but by the end I really liked it.

User avatar
StickHead
Posts: 1149
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by StickHead » Fri May 15, 2009 2:12 pm

I enjoyed the demo of this too. Seemed like they ripped off the Virus engine wholesale. Braben must have choked on his toast when he opened the morning game magazines. The engine works well with tanks, mind.
The Joy of STicks - YouTube - Blog - Twitter - Facebook
New Developments and old inspirations in Atari ST gaming.

User avatar
Sureshot
Posts: 5029
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: Mids., UK

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by Sureshot » Fri May 15, 2009 4:10 pm

Played it quite a lot on the Archimedes back in the day. Oh and you can't hotlink pictures from Mobygames.

User avatar
paranoid marvin
Posts: 14272
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:28 pm
Location: 21st Century Earth

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by paranoid marvin » Fri May 15, 2009 5:04 pm

Antiriad2097 wrote:
SOM1 wrote:I've still got a demo version from ST Format Cover Disk 9. I remember playing it but it was some twenty years ago.
That's the only time I've played the game too. Played it quite a bit, but never enough to convince me to buy the full thing. There just didn't seem a great deal to do and the pace was on the slow side - I was more used to Microprose games, so I expected my warfare to be more complex and varied.

Nice engine though. I once started coding a replica but it didn't get beyond some basic faked 3D tiles.

Yeah , I agree = for tank jollies M1 Tank Platoon by Microprose was much better, and came with an AWESOME manual.

Conqueror was coded using the Zarch engine , I guess it was more about the aesthetics , as at the time 'filled-in' 3D was THE pinnacle of graphic achievement at the time , see games like Carrier Command released around the same time as Zarch and Conqueror
Mr Flibble says...
"Game over , boys!"

User avatar
merman
Posts: 6418
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Skegness, UK
Contact:

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by merman » Sun May 17, 2009 1:07 pm

Another player of the Archimedes version here (I shouldn't have been, I was prefect in charge of the computer room, I should have been keeping an eye on people)
merman1974 on Steam, Xbox Live, Twitter and YouTube

User avatar
Coopdevil
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:25 am
Location: Comfortable, tunnel-like hall.

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by Coopdevil » Sun May 17, 2009 4:50 pm

So there was an Archimedes version! As I said above I always wondered if there was or if I was getting confused.
Image

User avatar
Katzkatz
Posts: 6984
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Sunny Eastern London suburb of Leytonstone and my own mind!

Re: Anyone play 'Conqueror' on the Atari ST?

Post by Katzkatz » Tue May 19, 2009 11:12 am

I remember seeing a demo of it as well on the Archie.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests