Favourite 8-bit Loading Command

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed, lcarlson

What is your favourite Loading Command?

LOAD \"\" - Simple and multi-format friendly
16
40%
Shift + Run-stop - The CLASSIC Commodore option
15
38%
Huh? Loading Commands? I just plugged the cart in and it worked.
1
3%
CHAIN \"\" - I had a BBC and therefore no friends.
1
3%
Shift + Break - See above
0
No votes
CAT and then RUN \"\" - You're HIRED!
1
3%
I had a different system or some strange way of loading my games and you haven't included my option. SORT IT OUT!
6
15%
 
Total votes: 40

User avatar
revgiblet
Posts: 2247
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:46 am
Location: Canowindra, NSW

Favourite 8-bit Loading Command

Post by revgiblet » Mon May 15, 2006 6:26 am

Continuing the very important series of polls that have been run recently I think it's important that we document our favourite method of loading those lovely 8-bit games we enjoy so much.

So please post your option...
"He who lives only to benefit himself confers on the world a benefit when he dies."

Tertullian

User avatar
Kickboxingshrimp
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:19 pm
Location: Pontefract
Contact:

Post by Kickboxingshrimp » Mon May 15, 2006 6:33 am

Amstrad cpc464

Ctrl and Small Enter Key.....
Stay Tuna`d

www.kickboxingshrimp.com

Image

Xbox Live Account : KBS Dot Com

User avatar
necronom
Posts: 5648
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 5:23 pm
Location: Middlesbrough

Post by necronom » Mon May 15, 2006 6:40 am

Is this poll an experiment to see how quickly a thread appears in another forum laughing at the poll?

Well it should keep them entertained for a couple of pages... :roll:

Anyway, it's just a bit of fun, so I have no problem with these polls. They're not serious and are just for laughs.

User avatar
TMR
Posts: 5756
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:56 am
Location: Leeds, U.K.
Contact:

Post by TMR » Mon May 15, 2006 6:47 am

F1 and enter, C64 booting off disk with an Action Replay VI attached.

User avatar
GarryG
Posts: 3221
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 7:33 am
Location: The cold wet bit above England...

Post by GarryG » Mon May 15, 2006 8:04 am

Er… OK…

How about ‘trying’ to load something in DOS then?

At the time half the games were more complicated to get to work than the user problems I had to fix as a computer technician!

User avatar
Antiriad2097
Posts: 26633
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:48 pm
Location: http://s11.zetaboards.com/RetroLeague/
Contact:

Post by Antiriad2097 » Mon May 15, 2006 8:07 am

I liked:

CLOAD""

On account of it being the only command that would actually work for loading games from cassette on an Oric...
The Retro League - Where skill isn't an obstacle
Retrocanteen, home of the unfairly banned
Tom_Baker wrote:I just finished watching a film about Stockholm syndrome. It started out terrible but by the end I really liked it.

User avatar
K-J N.
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:04 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by K-J N. » Mon May 15, 2006 9:03 am

<-L (left arrow + L), who didn't have tons of turbo tapes?

User avatar
Sureshot
Posts: 5029
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: Mids., UK

Post by Sureshot » Mon May 15, 2006 9:10 am

I used CH."" because I was cool.

User avatar
broton
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:37 am
Location: Derby

Re:

Post by broton » Mon May 15, 2006 10:44 am

Sureshot wrote:I used CH."" because I was cool.
I preferred */ whenever possible

User avatar
forestville
Posts: 852
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Tamworth UK

Post by forestville » Mon May 15, 2006 11:57 am

i used load"" on speccy+2 in 48k mode, but 128k mode i just selected tape loader from the on screen menu.
8) :D
Press play on tape

User avatar
stigodump
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 6:58 pm

Post by stigodump » Mon May 15, 2006 12:23 pm

I was always a fan of the "put game in, switch on and play" method.

User avatar
paranoid marvin
Posts: 14266
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:28 pm
Location: 21st Century Earth

Post by paranoid marvin » Mon May 15, 2006 2:02 pm

j , shift+p , shift+p
Mr Flibble says...
"Game over , boys!"

User avatar
mel the bell
Posts: 462
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 8:42 am
Location: near whitby
Contact:

Post by mel the bell » Mon May 15, 2006 2:20 pm

load ch ch as i used to call it :)

good old speccy keeping things simple :)
On 2003-12-08 20:15, cyborg wrote:
You're all corporate bitches if you buy a console - face it. Unless it's a Phantom - in that case you're just stupid - because even if it did exist it'd be crap

User avatar
paranoid marvin
Posts: 14266
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:28 pm
Location: 21st Century Earth

Post by paranoid marvin » Mon May 15, 2006 2:39 pm

I seem to remember on the Atari 800XL having to hold about 3 keys simultaeneously
Mr Flibble says...
"Game over , boys!"

Submerge
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 6:25 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Submerge » Mon May 15, 2006 2:42 pm

Anyone remeber the oldskool speccy LOAD""CODE?

rare!
'Let his name be praised' - Lo Ray, Body Blows.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest