Earliest gaming memories - first game, first computer and

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

JackBurton-Me

Earliest gaming memories - first game, first computer and

Post by JackBurton-Me » Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:32 am

first console?

First game ever for me was Match Day on a spectrum 48k at my mate's house. It was amazing. 2nd game I think was Booty. This must have been 1985 or 1986 when I was 5 or 6.

First computer was probably about a year or so later. It was an Atari XE thing and it was hopeless, much newer but nowhere near as good as a spectrum. At the time though I was so happy, with games such as Twilight World and Leaper.

Then for Christmas 88 or 89, not sure which, I got a lovely shiny Master System. It came with Fantasy Zone and something else I can't remember and my mate gave me a loan of double dragon that very day.

Christmas 1991 was the mighty Amiga, the Cartoon Classic pack. Ahhhhhh.

Havantgottaclue

Post by Havantgottaclue » Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:52 am

I actually got my first computer, a C64, at almost exactly the same time as we got our first piano, a second-hand thing that cost us £50. So my two favourite hobbies to this day actually came into my life more or less at the same time.

It's going back some 25 years but actually the first thing I remember doing with the C64 was typing in a program that my dad had written out for me the night before. After typing in DATA statements for what seemed like centuries, on RUNning I was treated to a cute strawberry sprite in multicolour expando-vision.