NeoDS help

Discuss and discover all the great games of yesteryear!

Moderators: mknott, NickThorpe, lcarlson, Darran@Retro Gamer, MMohammed

Post Reply
User avatar
pforson
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:32 am
Location: uk london
Contact:

NeoDS help

Post by pforson » Sun Aug 10, 2008 3:04 pm

Hi,

I know a few people on the forum have recommended NeoDS so I thought I'd give it a try but its a nightmare to get working.

Firstly, do I have to patch NeoDS.nds for use with an R4 card?

Secondly, in order to create the .neo files I have to use a program called neoconvert.exe - however, when I start it I get an error message that its not a program and needs to be reinstalled. What am I doing wrong, is there any other ways for me to convert my roms? (most are .zip files, inside of which are .rom files)

Is there anything else I need to do?

Thanks guys,
Pete
WANTED: Amiga CD32 games. PM me. :)

Image

User avatar
CrookedMouth
Posts: 522
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: USA, Maine

Post by CrookedMouth » Tue Aug 12, 2008 1:19 pm

Your R4 firmware should auto patch it, but you can patch it anyway.

You need to find the neogeo.zip roms, put that in the same folder as NeoDSConvert and your game .zips, look for the mame versions in .bin format,make a short-cut of NeoDsConvert.exe, and add "-bios1" to end of the target(without the quotes).

example, the below bios is the one with the drug warnings.
NeoDsConvert\NeoDsConvert.exe -bios3

Just right-click the shortcut go to properties and add the -bios1 to the target box.

Run the shortcut and copy the created .neo files to the root of your microSD. NeoDS.nds can go anywhere but the games need to be in the root.

You of course need to find the bios, somewhere.

Hope that helps.

User avatar
Kaede
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 12:22 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kaede » Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:19 am

How well does this emulator run Neo games? Would something like Mark of the Wolves run at anything like 100%?

User avatar
CrookedMouth
Posts: 522
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: USA, Maine

Post by CrookedMouth » Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:21 am

Yes it does.

User avatar
CraigGrannell
Posts: 4734
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 6:15 am
Contact:

Post by CraigGrannell » Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:24 am

Kaede wrote:How well does this emulator run Neo games? Would something like Mark of the Wolves run at anything like 100%?
It's fantastic. Almost everything I've thrown at it runs at full speed. This means full-speed Magical Drop III on DS, finally (at least until G-mode realises that, yes, Magical Drop on DS would be a Very Good Thing)!
iPhone/iPod/iPad game/app reviews: http://www.iphonetiny.com

User avatar
Kaede
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 12:22 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kaede » Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:30 am

Awesome. Portable MOTW for the win. Gonna sort this out.

User avatar
CraigGrannell
Posts: 4734
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 6:15 am
Contact:

Post by CraigGrannell » Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:33 am

There's a compatibility list here: http://soulmilk.tistory.com/6
iPhone/iPod/iPad game/app reviews: http://www.iphonetiny.com

User avatar
pforson
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:32 am
Location: uk london
Contact:

Post by pforson » Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:01 am

Gonna give it another go this weekend on my mates PC.

On the PC side of my Macbook Pro the Neoconvert.exe fails to load (says it is an invalid program and needs to be reinstalled). Very annoying!
WANTED: Amiga CD32 games. PM me. :)

Image

User avatar
MikeHaggar
Posts: 4787
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:02 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by MikeHaggar » Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:16 am

pforson wrote:Macbook Pro
That's the problem right there ;)

User avatar
CraigGrannell
Posts: 4734
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 6:15 am
Contact:

Post by CraigGrannell » Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:33 am

I doubt it. I did all my NeoDS stuff on my Mac, through Parallels Desktop running XP. No reason why a Mac booted into Windows wouldn't work.
iPhone/iPod/iPad game/app reviews: http://www.iphonetiny.com

User avatar
pforson
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:32 am
Location: uk london
Contact:

Post by pforson » Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:29 am

I know it should be irrelevant that I'm using a mac but as the neoconvert doesn't actually have an installer and whenever I run the .exe file windows says its not a valid program I'm a little lost.

I'm pretty computer lit but this has me stumped...

The only thing I can think is that I downloaded on the osx side :S

I'm a little baffled....
WANTED: Amiga CD32 games. PM me. :)

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests