SOR2 - First impressions

This is a new sub-forum that will feature all posts relevant for each monthly game readers will be participating in.

Moderators: NickThorpe, Darran@Retro Gamer

Stuart@retrogamer

SOR2 - First impressions

Post by Stuart@retrogamer » Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:21 pm

Post 'em here.

thevulture

Re: SOR2 - First impressions

Post by thevulture » Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:59 pm

1st time i saw it running was on Mean Machines promotional video-Jaw dropped to the floor.Massive sprites, Thumping soundtrack, Fighting a barman in a back alley, whilst it was chuckin it down, man i was sold.Soon as i started playing game for real?Just knew it was going to be something special.For me?a perfect sequel.would look very much at home in an arcade. :D

nakamura

Post by nakamura » Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:34 pm

Yup, it was the huge sprites and amazing music that sold it for me. As for the amazing special Dragon Punch type attack! Awesome!
http://judged-by-gabranth.blogspot.co.uk/
Antiriad2097 wrote:I have a general rule of thumb that if Nakamura likes something, it's not for me ;)

lanky316

Post by lanky316 » Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:09 pm

Where's the dude with the rocket launcher? Shortly followed by the disbelief they'd topped the original which I'd loved so much.

retrohogg

Post by retrohogg » Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:26 pm

Apprehension at spending a whole £20 of my pocket money, which i seem to recall was somewhere in the region of £2 a week, but once i pummeled my first Y signal everything was good...best £20 i ever spent.
If it's a miracle Colour Sergeant, it's a short chamber Boxer Henry, point 4-5 caliber miracle.

MattyC64c

Post by MattyC64c » Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:07 am

I was quite simply amazed by SOR2, the sound was fantastic and the sprites were huge, especially Max! Now I loved the first one but SOR2 was an absolute cracker, quite possibly better than Capcom's Final Fight!

nakamura

Post by nakamura » Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:21 am